





It was an honor to serve as the Iowa Optimist District Governor in 2009-10. It was a year of many, Woo Hoo's!

The turtle, Crush was our mascot. "Finish Strong" with running shoes was our theme the last quarter. The first club chartered for the year (Logan) was unveiled at the District Convention. The District Convention in Honey Creek had Kids Against Hunger project, Duck Race (we had to later retrieve some ducks that went in the drain), Fishing Derby, dog race, great food, Orchestra, Memorial Service Honor Guard, unveiling of a Memorial as a Tribute to Veterans (thanks to Earl & Marge Hopkins) and more.

I had Lt. Governor, Rick Kullander and Past Governor, Craig Kelley try to bring in the 4th club of the year the last few days of the Optimist Year and reach our goal of Distinguished. Many other great Optimists tried their best also. We didn't reach our goal as a Distinguished District, but we as Optimists have so much to be proud of. If we can say at the end of the day that we did our best to make the world a better place today, then we did our job. Thanks to the Great Iowa District Optimists for giving me the opportunity to serve as your Governor in 2009-10.

The Optimist International President for this year was Mark Shriver IV with Dr. Patricia McKay and the Regional Vice President of the Great Plain Region was Joanne Ganske. My executive Board was:

Past Governor, Dennis E. McGregor Immediate Past Governor, Janet Lloyd Governor-Elect, Gary Miner Secretary-Treasurer, Gerri Barnett

My Lieutenant Governors were:

Zone #1 - E. Ted Baker

Zone #2 - Kathy Baker

Zone #3 – Dick Baber

Zone #4 – Paul Beeler, Jr.

Zone #5 - Ken Bassett

Zone #6 – Dan Hagen

Zone #7 – Cyndi Barber

Distinguished Lt. Governor

Zone #8 – R.D. Keep Outstanding Lt. Governor

Zone #9 – Rick Kullander

Zone #10 –Dave Phillips Distinguished Lt. Governor

Zone #11 –John McFarland Zone #12 –Dennis E. McGregor

I had some great activities at each of the conferences during my year as Governor. The First Quarter was Shoeboxes for the Homeless; the Second Quarter was Cookies for the Troops; the Third Quarter was Camp Quality donations and the Convention was Kids Against Hunger.

had some great attendance at each of the Quarters:

First Quarter attendance	91
Second Quarter attendance	66/73
Iowa Presidents Visit (IPV)	134
Third Quarter attendance	92
Honey Creek Conv. Mbr/Gst	122/68

There were 3 New Clubs organized my year but there were also 6 Clubs that either disbanded or were revoked.

I had 4 Distinguished Clubs: Wayne – Corydon, Council Bluffs, Davenport Evening and Urbandale. There were also 9 Honor Club: Davenport Quad Cities-Morning, Davenport, Dubuque, Griswold, Kalona, Knoxville and Washington Township.

Awards given during 2008-2009:

My Master Secretary Treasurers: E. Ted Baker, Raymond Butt, Lucy Hough, Sharon Miner, Ken Bassett, Judy Boyd, Marge Hopkins and Craig Bentrott.

Top Member Recruiter: Denny Phares

Most Valuable Committee Chair: Earl & Marge Hopkins

Most Valuable Past Governor: Craig Kelly
Most Valuable Lt. Governor: (1st half) Dave Phillips

Most Valuable Lt. Governor (Overall) R D Keep

Governor's Appreciation: Caitlyn Miller, JOI Governor

Optimist of the Year: Patty Mason



JOOI Achievements and Awards

Bulletin Editor

Childhood Cancer Campaign (CCC)

Contest for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing (CCDHH)

Club Services

Conference Assistant

Web Master

District Convention

Essay Oratorical Finance

Governor's Assistant/Support Team

District Activities
Junior Golf

Leadership & Development

Membership

New Club Building (NCB)

Optimist International Conv. Ambassadors

Optimist International Foundation
Personal Growth and Involvement (PGI)

Photographer State Fair Supplies

Candidate Qualifications

Community Projects Awards (CPA)

Public Relations Youth Activities Pam Miller Lori Brewer Rich May Sharon Nakato

Anthony Portero-Paff

James Boyd Elyssa Barnett Dale Robertson

Earl & Marge Hopkins

Judy Boyd
Judy Boyd
E. Ted Baker
Dale Robertson
Lucy Hough
Mark Rohde
Gary Miner
Lou Oswald
Doug Olson

Craig & Jeanne Kelly Dennis E. McGregor

Doug Davis
Thomas Lloyd II
Jock & Lisa Naert
Paul Beeler Jr.
Janet Lloyd
Leslie Mason
Thomas Lloyd II

Sharon Miner



WE STAND

UNITED





Back Row: Thomas Lloyd II, Gary Miner, Earl Hopkins, Dennis McGregor, Marge Hopkins, Craig Kelly, Rich May, Doug Olson, Lucy Hough, Jeanne Kelly, Leslie Mason, Terry Hendershott, Judy Boyd, Paul Beeler, Dale Robertson, Jock Naert, Doug Olson, E Ted Baker, Jim Boyd

Front Row: Sharon Miner, Sharon Nakato, Gerri Barnett, Dr. Patricia McKay, OI President, Mark Shriver, Governor, Barbara Robertson, Janet Lloyd and Rebecca Butler-Mona