





District Governor Mark Feilmann - 2018-2019 (Optimist Club of Ankeny)

OI President – Rebecca Butler Mona (Optimist Club of Western Des Moines)

Great Plains Region Vice-President – Edie Harris (Alberta, Canada)

District Secretary – Loretta Cooley (Optimist Club of Ankeny)

International Theme: "Promise Yourself"

District Theme - "Soaring to New Heights"

SNARING I

It was a true honor to serve as the Governor during our 2018-2019 Optimist International Centennial Year and to work with each and every club along with our District Team in growing the Great Iowa Optimist District.

My theme was "Soaring to New Heights." What an appropriate theme coming from a former Naval Aviator. The Iowa district started the year with 65 fantastic clubs and members with a wide variety of local projects serving their communities and youth. We continued to grow and spread Optimism throughout the district.

Our plan was to focus on Growth of the Iowa District through strong club membership recruitment, the Friend of Optimist Program, membership retention, and new club building. Starting new clubs was included as a focus because a new club enhances the community by increasing the number of citizens impacting the lives of youth.

In 2018-2019 we also celebrated our Optimist International Centennial year through numerous events and projects. The Optimist International Centennial theme for the year was "Bringing Out the Best into the Next Century". It was a true pleasure working with fellow Iowan Rebecca Butler Mona as our Optimist International President.

In my year as Governor-Elect I tried to visit every club in the Great Iowa district in preparation for my Governor year by introducing myself to the clubs, familiarizing myself with the various type of youth activities, and to encourage the club presidents to continue growing in membership and youth projects. The club visits also provided opportunities to promote our Optimist centennial year and talk about our upcoming OI President Rebecca Butler Mona from the Iowa district.

Throughout the 2018-2019 year via Lieutenant Governors and Club Presidents I consistently shared a message of membership growth with monthly status updates and sharing how various people and clubs reached out to find new members. Incentives for members who sponsored a new member included a medallion for one new member and an OI Centennial Jacket for sponsoring 5 new members. Personal thank you cards were included when I mailed the medallion or jacket. We were very successful in our goals to grow the district. We ended the year with 415 new members either through club growth, college club expansion or building new clubs. Balanced with members lost, the District ended the year with a net plus 73.

Locations that would benefit from Optimist activity were identified and surrounding clubs and members helped to build 5 new clubs. New clubs chartered during the 2018-2019 year in the lowa district included:

- <u>Henry County</u>- Builders of excellence: Marguerite Fehseke, Donald Pfeiffer, Rick Danielson, and Paul Katsion.
- Ames Builders of excellence: Rita Davenport, Cyndi Barber, Sue Kruckenberg, and Mark Feilmann.
- Waukee- Builders of excellence: Rebecca Butler Mona, Tom Lloyd, Janet Lloyd and Mark Feilmann.
- <u>Peosta</u> Builders of excellence: Mike Sullivan, Carl McCarthy and Mark Feilmann.
- Fort Madison Area- (Club within a Club) Builders of excellence: Gerri Barnett and Zeke Potter.

One club disbanded (Cedar Rapids Evening) for an ending total of 68 clubs in the Iowa District.

An effective strategy contributing to our growth involved reengaging our three College Optimist clubs. These clubs included Hawkeye Optimist Chapter (former Tippie Optimist) lead by Abby Logan, Drake Optimist Club lead by Lucas Miazga, and Loras College Optimist Club lead by Spencer Lawson. All three college clubs continued growing in membership and local projects.



A highlight of the year was the annual Optimist International President's visit. We were honored to host Past OI president Nick Prillaman and current OI president Rebecca Butler Mona while celebrating honors from Past Governor Donald Pfeiffer's year and at the same time celebrating Council Bluffs Optimist Club's 60th Anniversary.

Our District convention in Des Moines was a true success. We included a hands on service project partnering with Bike World and the Variety Club children's charity to assemble 100 bicycles which were then presented to local youth and delivered to the YMCA in Mason City. Thanks to Loretta Cooley, District Secretary Treasurer for initiating the project. The other unique event occurred Saturday after lunch when Dave Phillips, our Childhood Cancer campaign chair, arranged for a major fundraiser including a Shave – to –Save event. Eleven heads were shaved, all for a great cause. We eventually raised over \$15,000 which was donated to the Stead Family Children's Hospital in September.

Overall our year was a major success in large part to our great district team who continued to step up whenever needed.

Many thanks go to my wife Ann, along with District Secretary Treasurer Loretta Cooley and Governor Advisor Cyndi Barber who encouraged, supported, and advised me throughout out Centennial year.

This past year was a very rewarding experience as Iowa District Governor while we "Soared to New Heights!"



Mark Feilmann 2018-2019 Iowa District Governor







This year of Soaring to New Heights was exhilarating and would not have happened without some incredible co-pilots. At foremost an executive leadership that took on tough decisions to keep the Great Iowa District shining as one of the great leadership Districts in all of Optimist International.

Executive Board:

Governor: Mark Feilmann
Past Governor: Denny Phares
Immediate Past Governor: Don Pfeiffer
Secretary-Treasurer: Loretta Cooley

Lt. Governors: Zeke Potter, Susan Enewold, Fred Hildebrandt,

Sue Wunsch, Kelly Calderon, Cyndi Barber,

Linda Gorton-Edwards, R.D. Keep, Sharon Nakato,

Carl McCarthy, Robert & Theresa Dunkin, and Jim Cluney

Lt. Governors attaining the level of Distinguished:

Zone 6: Kelly Calderon Zone 10: Carl McCarthy Zone 12: Jim Cluney

Distinguished Clubs:

Council Bluffs

Des Moines Western Noon

Des Moines Ankeny Davenport

Burlington-West Burlington

Fort Madison Area

Centennial Distinguished Clubs:

Des Moines Western Noon

Des Moines

"Bringing Out the Best" Clubs:

Riverside Boone
Urbandale Underwood
Oskaloosa Griswold
Bettendorf Solon

Washington



Master Secretary-Treasurers awards:

Leonard Wright - Council Bluffs Judy Boyd - Urbandale Chet Vanbibber - Des Moines Dave Phillips - Bettendorf

Top Member Recruiters:

Traditional: Rick Palmer - Davenport College: Abigail Logan - Hawkeye

Most Valuable Committee Chair: Susan Enewold – Council Bluffs

Most Valuable Past Governor: Carl McCarthy - Dubuque

Most Valuable Lt. Governor (1st Half): Jim Cluney - Washington

Most Valuable Lt. Governor (Overall): Zeke Potter – Fort Madison Area

Governor's Appreciation: Tom Lloyd – Des Moines

Optimist of the Year: Mike Sullivan - Dubuque/Peosta

Dedicated Service Award: (Bike Build:)

Loretta Cooley - Ankeny

Dedicated Service Award: (Shave to Save:)Dave Philips - Bettendorf





CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL!!!