





Ed Yoder Died; March 15, 2023

Ed Yoder had a vision of building growth within the Optimist Organization, and he approached it from experience as a construction worker. He attempted to build a year of growth for the Iowa District through the International Renaissance, Commitment to Growth program as laid out by Optimist International President, J. Wayne Smith and his very own growth program, "Build for the Future" using his construction skills of building strong foundations and repairing the weakened parts by using new material.

Ed was active the entire year visiting Clubs all throughout Iowa and attended training and motivational conferences both within and outside of Iowa. Ed was grateful for the honor bestowed upon him being elected as Governor of the Iowa District and did not take his responsibility lightly. He pursued his goals with passion. Ed's wife, Anna, was right there with him for nearly all events to provide Ed with additional support and strength throughout the year.



The Optimist International President for this year was J. Wayne Smith with his wife Mary Jo and the Regional Vice President of the Great Plains Region was Past Distinguished Iowa Governor, Duane J Krob and his wife Mydge. The stage was set for a successful year that was met with some harsh realities.

His executive Board was:

Past Governor, Roger Koch Immediate Past Governor, Thomas D. Lloyd II Governor-Elect, Edwin E. Minard II Secretary-Treasurer, Dennis E. McGregor



His Lieutenant Governors were:

Zone #1 – Patty Smith
Zone #2 – Monte M. Dillehay
Zone #3 – Floyd Hamman
Zone #4 – Allan L Sams
Zone #5 – Rob Reinard
Zone #6 – Walter Reed
Zone #7 – Chet Masterson/Bob Shaw
Zune #7 – Chet Masterson/ Bob Shaw
Zone #8 – Robert Fisher
-
Zone #8 – Robert Fisher
Zone #8 – Robert Fisher Zone #9 – Troy McCarthy

Distinguished

Distinguished

Distinguished/Outstanding



His District Chairs were:

JOOI/Youth Clubs Achievements and Awards **Bulletin Editor Candidate Qualifications** Communications Community Projects Awards (CPA) **Club Services District Convention** Finance Historian Youth Activities Junior Golf Leadership Development Membership New Club Building (NCB) **Optimist International Conv. Ambassadors Optimist International Foundation** Personal Growth and Involvement (PGI) OI and District Supply Sergeant at Arms

Janet Lloyd **Dale Robertson** Michelle McCarthy Roger Koch Renee Hardman Margaret Morgan Judy Boyd Donald Lee Paul Mauer Margaret Morgan **Steve Rogers** Bob Wenner Dan Anderson **Richard Danielson** Laureen Koch Carl & Carol McCarthy Roger Koch Lyle Magneson Jerry Trout Keebie Kessler



There were 3 New Clubs organized during his year:

Urbandale; May 14, 1998 Logan-Loma; June 23, 1998 Centerville; September 30, 1998

Unfortunately, there were also 9 Clubs that disbanded during this Optimist year leaving a net loss of 6 Clubs.

Membership for the Iowa District also took a large loss of a net 233 members.

Optimist of the Year:

Roger Koch

BUILD FOR



THE FUTURE

See the next page for the Executive Team Photo. \downarrow

EXECUTIVE TEAM PHOTO



Back Row: Left to Right:

Floyd Hamman, Lt Governor; Wilton (Leob) Wilkinson, Lt Governor; Troy McCarthy, Lt. Governor; Walter Reed, Lt. Governor; Rob Reinard, Lt. Governor; Gary Miner, Lt. Governor; Patty Smith, Lt. Governor; Larry Kramer, Lt. Governor; Robert Fisher, Lt. Governor.

Front Row: Left to Right:

Chet Masterson, Lt. Governor; Allan Sams, Lt. Governor; Monty Dillehay, Lt. Governor; Douglas Morgan, Secretary-Treasurer; J. Wayne Smith, OI President; Edward M. Yoder, Governor; Edwin E. Minard, Governor-Elect; Dennis E. McGregor, Secretary-Treasurer Designate

Not Pictured:

Thomas D. Lloyd II, Immediate Past Governor; Roger Koch, Past Governor