

Gerri Barnett

Rich May

Don Pfeiffer M

Marguerite Fehseke

The Year of the Quad Governor Rule

#### 2022/2023

This was to be the year for Ezekiel Potter from Fort Madison to lead the Iowa District. Unfortunately, Zeke found himself in a position where he was not able to begin his year as Governor and only completed his year as Governor-Elect. Zeke's step-down at the midnight hour of the new Optimist year left the Iowa District in a position of a <u>no</u> Governor leadership for the 2022/2023 Optimist year. The 2022/23 Audit and Finance Chair, District Secretary-Treasurer and leadership Development Chair Considered a Quad Governor Model looking to the Immediate Past Governor and the three previous Governors to complete each of the Quarters. Gerri Barnett accepted the First Quarter, Rich May accepted the Second Quarter, Donald Pfeiffer accepted the Third Quarter and Marguerite Fehseke agreed to anchor the remaining Fourth Quarter. While this was not an ideal solution and did not lead the District into a spectacular year; it did provide the Iowa District with a continuum that allowed for some consistency through to the next Optimist year when Governor-Elect Marge Hopkins could begin her year of leadership with her team for the 2023/2024 Optimist Year.

This was a very difficult year for the Quad Governors because there was no true ownership in the theme and momentum was lacking because of the break in each of the Quarters with changing Governing roles. This Option, although it got the Iowa District through a difficult situation, did not allow for growth and expansion, and would not be recommended to repeat without a unified plan and matching goals for a smooth flow through each of the four quarters.

#### However.

Because the Iowa District's foundation was made from strong leaders already in place, the 2022/2023 Quad Governor Model did succeed in maintaining an Iowa Strong Pride and Attitude.

Each Governor was responsible for the Conference or Convention in their respective quarters which led to some great learning opportunities and fun District fellowship; each having their own style and flavor.

This Model of Governing also led to the discovery of new Shining Stars with new perspectives leading into exciting new directions for the Iowa District.

And although there was no Membership Growth, the new Model gave everyone the opportunity to take a hard look at the problem areas that were evident prior to the Quad Governor Model. This hard look

produced a Clean-up Plan and a New Club Building effort which both were set into motion. These were set so that the next incoming Governor would have a head start toward a successful year.



## The 2022/2023 Executive Board was:

- Past Governor, Sharon Nakato
- Immediate Past Governor, Rich May
- 1<sup>st</sup> Quarter Governor, Gerri Barnett
- 2<sup>nd</sup> Quarter Governor, Rich May
- 3<sup>rd</sup> Quarter Governor, Donald Pfeiffer
- 4<sup>th</sup> Quarter Governor, Marguerite Fehseke
- Governor-Elect, Marge Hopkins
- Secretary-Treasurer, Lynnae Hillyer
- Lt. Governors (See Below)



## The Lieutenant Governors were:

- Zone #1 Mark Claussen
- Zone #2 Erin Houseton
- Zone #3 George Volz
- Zone #4 Sue Wunsch
- Zone #5 Sue Wunsch
- Zone #6 Open
- Zone #7 Joleen Jorgensen
- Zone #8 R D Keep
- Zone #9 Theresa Dunkin
- Zone #10 (North) Jane Schmidt
- Zone #10 (South) Sandi Schmidt
- Zone #11 Theresa Dunkin
- Zone #12 Open



## The District Chairs were:

Achievements and Awards Audit & Finance Candidate Qualifications Centerpieces Childhood Health and Wellness Conference Assistant Contest for the Deaf & Hard of Hearing **District Convention** Essav **Governor Advisor** Historian JOOI/Youth Clubs Junior Golf Leadership Development Marketing/Social Media Membership New Club Building (NCB) New Club Building (NCB)-Spec. Needs OI and District Supply Optimist International Conv. Ambassadors **Optimist International Foundation** Oratorical Contest Personal Growth and Involvement (PGI) & Personal Development Program (PDP) Photography Programs/Community Activity Sergeant at Arms Webmaster

Marge Hopkins Judy Boyd **Rich May** Ann Feilmann Sharon Nakato Gerri Barnett Leonard Wright Lynnae Hillyer Sandi Schmidt **Donald Pfeiffer Dennis McGregor** Rebecca Butler-Mona Aaron Gunnare Aaron Gunnare Rebecca Butler-Mona Cyndi Barber Marguerite Fehseke Susan Enewold Gerri Barnett Janet & Thomas Lloyd II Mark Feilmann Sue Wunsch/George Volz

Thomas Lloyd II Lauren Rowbottom Sandi Schmidt Open Zeke Potter/Rich May

There were no New Clubs organized during this year.

Unfortunately, there were 2 Clubs that disbanded during this Optimist year leaving a net loss of 2 Clubs:

- Waukee
- Carter Lake

Membership for the Iowa District also took a large loss of a net 159 members.

# "BELIEVE IN OPTIMISM"



### AWARDS AND RECOGNITIONS

Honor Clubs:	<u>Club</u> Bettendorf Maquoketa	<u>President</u> Davet Phillips Elizabeth Wold	<u>S/T</u> Sandi Schmidt Judith Bickford/Carol Hammill
Distinguished District OIF		Mark Feilmann	
Master Secretary Treasurer		Ainsley Houseton (Secretary) Manna Cares	
Achievements and Awards Division One: Division Two		Des Moines Western Noon Optimist Club Kalona Optimist Club	
Top Membership Recruiter		Dave Phillips	
Most Valuable Committee Chair		Cyndi Barber	
Most Valuable Lt. Governor		Sandi Schmidt/Jane Schmidt	
Most Valuable Past Governor		Judy Boyd	
Optimist of the Year:		Lynnae Hillyer	

# **BELIEVE IN OPTIMISM**

